My Weekend Tipple: Easy Sangiovese

I had a bout of healthy lifestyle inspiration on Friday, after watching The Hairy Bikers, Hairy Dieters , and rustled up their Skinny Beef Lasagne, which – deep breath – doesn’t actually contain pasta. Cunningly disguised as ‘pasta sheets’, blanched leeks form the layers between rich, tomatoey, delicious beef ragu. With a sprinkling of Parmesan reggiano on the top, there was no mistaking this looked like any normal lasagne. Of course, being the wine lover I am, I could not enjoy this experience without a snappy little Italian red. As I nipped into Tesco to gather ingredients, I stumbled on this little beauty Dino Sangiovese di Romagna DOC with a welcoming half price ticket. Now at it’s normal price of £9.99 I’m not sure I would have given it a second look, however at only £4.99 it was fantastic for the price. Light in the glass and at only 12% abv, it shines with red and dark fruits and a hint of spiciness. Made from the same grape as Chianti, this provides a lighter and cheaper alternative If you want an easy Italian red, then for me, this is perfect and a steal while it’s half price :-)

Tell us what you think...

