Oh So Floral: Blackwood’s Vintage Gin

When my mother was pregnant with me, she so badly craved gin that she used to unscrew the lid and sniff the bottle every night. I’m sure it’s where I get my gin-lust from.

I’ve tried gin in every which way, and no producer has impressed me more than the super Blackwood’s Vintage Dry Gin.

Being a single vintage makes the flavours more distinguishable and also means they vary from year to year. Blackwoods use various botanicals from the Shetlands including water mint and sea pink – these get extra points for sounding like magical ingredients.

It’s the most floral, delicate gin I’ve tried and is full of complexity. I drink it with elderflower juice or a light tonic, the perfect pre-dinner tipple.

You can nab a bottle of the lovely Blackwood’s from Drink Supermarket for £17.53 with a very reasonable shipping charge. See if it lasts until the next vintage appears…

About Laura

Freelance writer waxing lyrical most often about wine, food, travel, feminism, Literature, and the telly box. Daydream-believer and all-round lover of the good old days.

Tell us what you think...

